Predicting the Future is Easy

Sean McClure
2 min read2 days ago

--

Nature runs on invariant patterns. You can expect those invariances to repeat, with absolute certainty.

There will be another outbreak. There will be another crash. If I eat junk food I will suffer metabolic consequences. If I get angry in the moment my life will reduce in quality. Intervening with genetics, or the climate will have bad consequences.

I do no know when the outbreak will occur, where it will come from or which virus it will relate to. I do not know what adverse health effects I will suffer from eating junk, or in what way my life will suffer if I anger easily. I do not know what the consequence of intervening on genetics or the climate will be.

But I know with near absolute certainty all of these will occur. I do not need studies, or analyses to confirm this. I need only an understanding of the ever-present properties nature’s phenomena adhere to.

This type of prediction will not make me money, at least not directly. But it will dramatically improve my ability to survive and make smart decisions in life. A life lived using the knowledge of undeniable properties is a life that is both rational and right.

Predicting the future is easy.

--

--

Sean McClure

Independent Scholar; Author of Discovered, Not Designed; Ph.D. Computational Chem; Builder of things; I study and write about science, philosophy, complexity.